Betrayal

Woman series #1

She wakes in a haze, the betrayal still burning hot
Memories seared in her mind, her stomach in a knot
Pain is running through her from head to toe
Agony in her heart, moving so slow
Looking in the mirror, and another’s face peers back
This can’t be her own – the swelling, bruises so black
Apologies fall from his lips, he loves her so
Wincing from his touch, she can remember each blow
His love he delivered with such a force and rage
Apologies ring empty, they do not assuage
This boundary crossed she can never forgive
With this betrayal so deep she can’t live
What was done that night can never be undone
She walks away and her tears fall one by one

don't walk away from me now.

About jadedheart

For those of you who stumble across this blog, I invite you to share your thoughts and feelings and know that you are welcome here. For those of you who identify with my writings, I hope you find something helpful buried within these thoughts. I invite you all to take a look around and hope you enjoy. View all posts by jadedheart

8 responses to “Betrayal

  • Martin Shone

    I have butterflies in my gut now, this poem is very very painful, sad but beautiful that you can put it down in words.

  • Lisa - BloomAnyway

    I love that you are writing poetry. Seriously. It is good for you! Not only that, It’s good for me too! I enjoy reading it. I know it’s painful but it’s so worth getting it out.

    I have been in an abusive relationship in the past. I was 19/20 years old. I had my first child with this person. I still remember the abuse as if it was yesterday. What I’m going through now is very different but it has the some of the same qualities of trauma emotionally. I don’t really want to compare the two as if both are abuse, but lets just say abandonment is neglect. A passive form of abuse. Shit’ if my husband heard me say that he would totally freak out. But it’s the truth and the truth sets us free. The trauma is very close to the same and boy does it suck!!! Thankfully I’m in a better place now growth wise than I was then.

    Anyway, Thank you for your words. They fed me once again!

    • jadedheart

      There’s nothing wrong with comparing the two. Whether the abuse is emotional or physical, it is abuse just the same and it leaves scars. And neglect is just as bad as any other type of abuse just a different form, but it hurts just the same. I’m glad to hear that my writing is helping you, it has definitely been helping me, mostly to feel so passionate about something again. Stay strong girl, even scars fade with time.

  • Vampire Weather

    When cut
    She bleeds revenge
    And other things
    For inside
    Her jaded veins
    Boils blood
    Tainted by the sting
    Of life so unfair
    And hearts so untrue
    But I still see
    Her belief
    Beneath her skin
    Where she knows
    The trespasses can mend
    And she will smile once again
    If not today
    When waking preys
    On our tired hearts
    …Tomorrow
    When the blood flows new
    In her art
    Because her eyes
    Are the color of hope
    I see them shine beneath her scars
    And she is beautiful
    When she remembers

    Beautiful words jadedheart. I can feel her hurt. It is a sacred thing which will shape her and change her. Betrayal is so hard to carry through a day

  • Maiya

    I can feel the pain in this poem. It is beautifully written. Keep writing it will help like its helped me.

Feel free to share your thoughts...

